Oman Residency Through Property in 2026: Golden Residency vs. the New Owner Visa

muscat_mutrah

Oman now truly offers two distinct, property-linked routes to residency, and confusing them can genuinely cost you time, paperwork, or the wrong permit for your situation. One is an investment-residency programme launched in August 2025, with a threshold of OMR 200,000 and a renewable 10-year permit. The other is a new, sponsor-free permit introduced in mid-2026 for foreigners who own property in the Sultanate. This guide breaks down both, so you know exactly which one fits your goals before you buy.

Two Routes, Two Very Different Purposes

As of mid-2026, Oman runs two separate, property-linked residency schemes side by side. The Golden Residency is a long-term investment-migration programme run through the official Invest Oman platform, built for buyers who want a decade-long renewable permit for their whole family. The Owner Visa, introduced by Royal Oman Police Decision No. 87/2026, is a simpler, shorter-term permit that says, in effect, “you own a home here, so you may live in it,” with no sponsor and, in the reports reviewed, no minimum property value. They are not interchangeable, and Oman’s own regulations treat them as entirely separate legal instruments. Neither permit widens where a foreigner may own: the Ministry of Housing and Urban Planning stated on 28–29 June 2026 that foreign ownership is limited to designated areas, namely licensed Integrated Tourism Complexes (ITCs), the future cities Sultan Haitham City, Al Thuraya City and Al Jabal Al Aali, and integrated neighbourhoods such as Surooh, and that the residency amendments concern residency only. Freehold units in qualifying special economic zone and free zone projects are also allowed under Royal Decree 38/2025, with the detail still to be confirmed. The Golden Residency real estate route, however, covers only ITC units. See our guide on whether foreigners can buy property in Oman for the full picture.

Route 1: The Golden Residency (Invest Oman)

The Golden Residency programme was launched at the end of August 2025 by the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Investment Promotion, with applications made through the official Invest Oman platform. It replaced the earlier OMR 250,000 / OMR 500,000 tiers with a single OMR 200,000 threshold (formal repeal of the older tiers has not been verified).

  • OMR 200,000 (about USD 520,000) minimum qualifying investment
  • 10-year renewable residency for the primary applicant
  • Covers family members without restrictions on age or number, according to a Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Investment Promotion news item (September 2025)
  • Applications are made through the Invest Oman platform; the official Invest Oman page could not be checked, so details of case handling are unconfirmed
  • Gulf News and the Oman Observer report that holders may also own one property outside ITCs, in areas open to non-Omani ownership and excluding land that non-Omanis cannot own; we could not confirm this from an official page

The OMR 200,000 threshold can be met through any of seven qualifying routes:

Qualifying route Minimum hold Best suited to
ITC real estate Valid title deed required; holding period not confirmed Overseas buyers wanting a usable asset
Company formation and operation At least one year Buyers already trading in Oman
Government development bonds At least two years Passive, low-involvement investors
Muscat Stock Exchange equities Holding period not confirmed Investors comfortable with market risk
Fixed bank deposit Five years (China Briefing) or two years (Oman Observer, 3 Sep 2025); sources conflict Buyers prioritising capital preservation
Employing 50+ Omani nationals Ongoing Established operating businesses
FCIL company registration Ongoing Structured foreign-capital investors
  1. Establishing and operating a company in Oman for at least one year
  2. Buying real estate inside a designated Integrated Tourism Complex (ITC) (residential, commercial or tourism units with a valid title deed, plus a certified balance sheet where a company owns the unit; ITCs are licensed by the Ministry of Heritage and Tourism)
  3. Government development bonds with a maturity of at least two years
  4. Listed equities on the Muscat Stock Exchange
  5. Fixed bank deposits (held for at least five years according to China Briefing, but at least two years according to the Oman Observer of 3 September 2025; the sources conflict)
  6. A company employing 50 or more Omani nationals
  7. Registering a company under Oman’s Foreign Capital Investment Law (FCIL)

For overseas buyers, route 2 is the one tied to buying a home. It covers only units in an ITC with a valid title deed, so a property above OMR 200,000 does not qualify merely because of its price.

Route 2: The New Owner Visa (ROP Decision No. 87/2026)

Royal Oman Police Decision No. 87/2026, issued by the Royal Oman Police and published in Official Gazette No. 1653 on 21 June 2026, took effect on 22 June 2026 (according to Times of Oman and Lexis Middle East) and introduced a new, sponsor-free residency permit for foreign property owners. It is not a replacement for the Golden Residency; it’s a separate, lighter-weight option aimed at people who simply want the right to live in a home they own.

  • No sponsor required — the permit is granted directly on a certificate from the competent authority, based on proof of ownership
  • Validity of 6 months to 1 year, renewable, with a maximum stay of 3 months per entry
  • Extends to a spouse and first-degree relatives, plus legal representatives of property-owning entities
  • No minimum property value appears in any report reviewed; the permit is not tied to the Golden Residency’s OMR 200,000 threshold
  • Tied strictly to ownership — the permit (and any family permits issued alongside it) is automatically cancelled if the property is sold or ownership is transferred

It is a residency permit only and not a route to ownership: the Ministry of Housing and Urban Planning stated on 28–29 June 2026 that the amendments concern residency only. Because this is such a new regulation, some administrative details are still being finalized. If you’re applying under this route, confirm the latest documentation requirements with the Royal Oman Police or a local legal advisor before you travel.

Golden Residency vs. Owner Visa: Side-by-Side

Feature Golden Residency Owner Visa
Legal basis Launched at the end of August 2025 by the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Investment Promotion; applications via Invest Oman ROP Decision No. 87/2026 (Official Gazette 1653, 21 June 2026; effective 22 June 2026)
Minimum property value OMR 200,000 (~USD 520,000); on the real estate route, ITC units with a valid title deed None in any report reviewed
Validity 10 years, renewable 6 months–1 year, renewable
Sponsor required No No
Family coverage Family members, without restrictions on age or number Spouse + first-degree relatives
Stay per entry No per-entry limit reported Up to 3 months per entry
Tied to property ownership On the real estate route, yes (ITC units); other routes rest on other qualifying investments Yes, strictly
Best suited for Long-term relocation, family settlement, larger investment Foreign property owners who want sponsor-free entry rights, whatever the property value

Which Route Should You Choose?

If you’re buying a villa or apartment in an ITC at or above OMR 200,000 and you want a decade-long, renewable permit that folds in your whole family, the Golden Residency is the longer-term option. If your property is not an ITC unit of at least that value with a valid title deed, or you mainly want the legal right to stay in a home you already own without navigating a full investment-migration application, the Owner Visa is a lighter alternative, though its shorter validity and 3-month-per-entry cap make it less suited to buyers planning to live in Oman full time.

The Golden Residency Application Process Step By Step

The Golden Residency application is made through the Invest Oman platform. The official Invest Oman page could not be checked for this guide, so the sequence below is a general outline to confirm with Invest Oman: register on the platform and select your qualifying investment route (real estate is the route tied to buying property), complete your ITC property purchase and obtain the title deed, and submit your application with supporting documentation including the title deed. No official processing time was found in the reports reviewed, so confirm expected timelines with Invest Oman.

The Owner Visa Application Process Step By Step

The Owner Visa’s application process is deliberately lighter than the Golden Residency’s, reflecting its purpose as a straightforward right-to-reside permit rather than a full investment-migration programme. Applicants provide proof of property ownership to the competent authority, receive a certificate confirming eligibility, and the permit is then granted without requiring a local sponsor. Because ROP Decision No. 87/2026 is still new, exact documentation requirements can vary as implementation details are finalised, so applicants should confirm the current process with the Royal Oman Police or a local legal advisor before travelling, rather than relying solely on general guidance published shortly after the decision’s introduction.

Which Qualifying Investment Route Makes Sense For Real Estate Buyers?

Of the seven routes to the Golden Residency’s OMR 200,000 threshold, real estate inside a designated ITC is the route that suits an overseas buyer who wants a home, for a simple reason: it is the only one that also delivers a genuinely useful, liveable, and potentially income-generating asset alongside the residency itself. Government development bonds, fixed bank deposits, and listed equities all satisfy the investment threshold on paper, but they don’t give the applicant anywhere to stay, rent out, or use personally the way an Al Mouj apartment or a Jebel Sifah villa does. The company-formation and Omani-employment routes, meanwhile, generally suit buyers already running an active business in Oman rather than those approaching residency purely as an investment decision.

Choosing The Right Property For Your Residency Route

Because the Golden Residency threshold is based on property value, buyers targeting this route should confirm that their chosen unit is an ITC unit worth at least OMR 200,000 with a valid title deed, and ask Invest Oman how the value is assessed; the reports reviewed do not say whether agency fees, VAT or currency movements count towards it. Al Mouj and Jebel Sifah are named in press reports as licensed ITCs, so units there can be checked against the threshold, while buyers targeting the Owner Visa route, which sets no minimum value in any report reviewed, have more flexibility in property size and price, including studios and smaller apartments that wouldn’t reach the Golden Residency threshold on their own. See our full guide to what you can buy in Oman for $200,000, $400,000, and $600,000 for a detailed budget breakdown by property type.

How Oman’s Residency Options Compare To Other Gulf And Mediterranean Programmes

The research behind this guide did not compare Oman’s Golden Residency threshold of roughly $520,000 with other Gulf or Mediterranean programmes, so no ranking is claimed here; check each programme’s current rules. Wider economic and demographic context for these programmes is published by the National Centre for Statistics and Information. On tax, no annual property tax and no capital gains tax on an individual’s sale of residential property were found in the sources reviewed (this is not confirmed by the Tax Authority). That changes from 1 January 2028, when the personal income tax law (Royal Decree 56/2025) takes effect: 5% on income above OMR 42,000 a year, with rent from real estate and proceeds from the disposal of real estate listed as income and exemptions for a primary and a secondary residence; the executive regulations had not been found. The Owner Visa sets no minimum property value in any report reviewed.

Documents You’ll Need For Each Route

Reports say the Golden Residency real estate route requires a valid title deed for the ITC unit and, where a company owns the unit, a certified final balance sheet. No official document list was found, so passport copies, proof of the investment and identity documents are likely to be requested through the platform but are unconfirmed. Owner Visa applications are centred on proof of property ownership and a certificate from the competent authority (the reports reviewed do not name the issuing authority), and applicants should confirm the precise current documentation list with the Royal Oman Police given how recently the decision was introduced.

Costs Beyond The Qualifying Investment

No separate government “residency fee” was found in the reports reviewed for either route, and applicants should budget for the costs of the underlying property purchase — the 3% registration fee (cut from 5% in November 2020; the official-type reports do not say who pays it), agency and legal fees (no official figure was found), and 5% VAT on the first supply of new residential property, covered in our property tax in Oman guide — plus any legal advisory fees for application support.

Cost item Golden Residency Owner Visa
Qualifying investment OMR 200,000 minimum No specified minimum
Property registration fee 3% of the asset value (payer not stated in official-type reports) 3% of the asset value (payer not stated in official-type reports)
Legal advisory Recommended Strongly recommended (new rules)
Application handling Via Invest Oman platform Via competent authority certificate
Renewal frequency Every 10 years Every 6 to 12 months

Renewing Your Residency Permit

The Golden Residency is a renewable 10-year permit; the reports reviewed do not say what happens to it if the qualifying property is sold, so ask Invest Oman before selling. The Owner Visa’s shorter 6-month to 1-year validity requires more frequent renewal, tied continuously to proof of ongoing property ownership, and is automatically cancelled — not simply due for renewal, but cancelled outright — the moment the underlying property is sold. This distinction matters significantly for buyers weighing the two routes: the Owner Visa offers no residency continuity if you sell, while the Golden Residency’s treatment of a sale was not found in the reports reviewed.

Scenario Golden Residency outcome Owner Visa outcome
Property retained Renews at term end Renews on proof of ownership
Property sold Not stated in the reports reviewed; confirm with Invest Oman Permit cancelled automatically
Family permits Not stated in the reports reviewed Cancelled with the primary permit
Long absence from Oman No minimum stay reported Max 3 months per entry applies

Family Members And Dependents Under Each Route

According to the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Investment Promotion, the Golden Residency extends to family members without restrictions on age or number, under the primary applicant’s single qualifying investment. This makes it particularly well-suited to buyers relocating an entire family, including adult children who might not qualify for coverage under more restrictive residency programmes elsewhere. The Owner Visa’s family coverage, extending to a spouse and first-degree relatives, is narrower but still meaningful for smaller households or buyers whose family situation doesn’t require the Golden Residency’s broader scope. Buyers with adult children, extended family, or more complex household situations should weigh this difference carefully when choosing between the two routes, since it can be a deciding factor independent of property value or budget. This is a distinction worth discussing with your broker early, since it can shape which specific property and price point makes the most sense for your household.

Common Mistakes When Choosing Between The Two Routes

  • Assuming any property worth OMR 200,000 or more qualifies for the Golden Residency. The real estate route covers only ITC units with a valid title deed, so a property outside an ITC does not qualify on price alone, and a property below the threshold does not qualify on its own. The Owner Visa is a separate permit with no minimum value in any report reviewed.
  • Underestimating the Owner Visa’s 3-month-per-entry cap. Buyers planning to live in Oman full-time, rather than visit periodically, should note that no per-entry stay cap was reported for the Golden Residency; confirm this with Invest Oman.
  • Not confirming current Owner Visa documentation requirements before travelling. Because the decision is new, requirements can shift, and arriving without confirmed, current paperwork can cause delays.
  • Overlooking that the Owner Visa cancels automatically on sale. Buyers who may need to sell and repurchase, or who see the property as a shorter-term hold, should factor this cancellation risk into their residency planning.
  • Choosing based on property budget alone rather than family and lifestyle needs. A buyer with a large extended family may find the Golden Residency’s family coverage worth pursuing.

Can I Apply For The Golden Residency Before My Property Purchase Completes?

Reports say the Golden Residency real estate route requires a valid title deed, issued through the property registry maintained by the Ministry of Housing and Urban Planning, meaning the property purchase would typically need to complete, with title formally registered, before the application can be submitted (this timing is not confirmed by an official page). Buyers should plan their application timeline around their property’s expected completion and registration date accordingly.

Does The Owner Visa Cover Rental Properties, Or Only Owner-Occupied Homes?

The reports reviewed describe the Owner Visa as granted on proof of property ownership and do not mention an owner-occupancy condition, so an owner who rents out their property while living elsewhere in Oman, or who splits time between the property and travel, may remain eligible as long as ownership is maintained; this was not confirmed. Applicants with specific occupancy questions should confirm current interpretation with the Royal Oman Police or a local legal advisor given how recently the decision was introduced.

Which Route Is Better For A Buy-To-Let Investor Who Doesn’t Plan To Live In Oman?

Investors who mainly want residency as a flexible option, without committing to full-time relocation, often find the Owner Visa’s lighter application process sufficient for their needs, particularly if their property is not an ITC unit worth at least OMR 200,000 with a valid title deed. Those who do qualify may still prefer the Golden Residency, for which no per-entry stay cap was reported, even without immediate plans to relocate full-time, to preserve flexibility for the future.

Is Legal Advice Recommended Before Applying For Either Route?

Yes, particularly for the Owner Visa given how recently ROP Decision No. 87/2026 was introduced and how documentation requirements may still evolve. For the Golden Residency, working with a broker experienced in recent Invest Oman submissions similarly reduces the risk of delays from incomplete or incorrectly formatted applications.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I hold both the Golden Residency and the Owner Visa at the same time?

They are separate permits granted under different legal frameworks. No source reviewed says whether one person may hold both at the same time, so confirm this with Invest Oman and the Royal Oman Police before applying for both.

Does the Owner Visa let me work in Oman?

The Owner Visa is a residency permit tied to property ownership, not a work permit. If you plan to work in Oman, discuss your specific situation with a local legal advisor.

What happens to my Owner Visa if I sell my property?

The permit is cancelled automatically, along with any family permits issued under it, since it is tied strictly to continued ownership.

Is the OMR 200,000 Golden Residency threshold per person or per family?

The investment is made by the primary applicant, and the resulting residency then covers their spouse and children under a single qualifying investment.

Do I need to live in Oman to keep either permit valid?

No minimum stay requirement for the Golden Residency was found in the reports reviewed; confirm this with Invest Oman. The Owner Visa allows stays of up to 3 months per entry within its validity period.

Can I Upgrade From The Owner Visa To The Golden Residency Later?

If you later purchase or hold qualifying investment clearing the OMR 200,000 threshold, you can apply for the Golden Residency separately through the Invest Oman platform. The two permits are governed by different legal frameworks, and no mechanism for converting an Owner Visa into a Golden Residency was found in the reports reviewed, so expect to submit a fresh Golden Residency application.

Does The Golden Residency Or Owner Visa Lead To Omani Citizenship?

Neither residency route directly grants a fixed path to Omani citizenship. Both are residency permits tied to continued qualifying investment or property ownership, and citizenship in Oman follows a separate, generally more restrictive legal process independent of either residency programme.

How Long Does The Golden Residency Application Typically Take?

No official processing time was found in the reports reviewed. Applicants should confirm the expected timeline with Invest Oman before applying.

Before deciding where to buy, it is worth reading our guides to rental yields in Oman, Sultan Haitham City and Sohar real estate, since the property that best satisfies a residency threshold is not always the one that performs best as an investment.

Join The Discussion

Compare listings

Compare
Oman flag
HEADQUARTERS MUSCAT