The Omani Property Foreigners Cannot Buy – and How to Spot It in Three Questions

  • 17 minutes ago
  • Oman
  • 0
muscat luxurious 07

The two cheapest square feet in our entire Omani portfolio are not for sale to you. Not because they are reserved, or sold out, or expensive in disguise — but because you are not Omani.

At $56 per square foot in Sur and $66 per square foot in Bidbid, they undercut the cheapest thing a foreigner can legally own in Oman by a third. Both appear on property portals. Both have brochures, floor plans and prices. Neither can be bought by a non-Omani on any of the routes the law provides.

This page is the test we run before we write sell-side copy about any Omani project, set out so you can run it yourself. It is not legal advice — only a lawyer and the land registry can confirm what a specific deed says — but it will tell you which listings are worth a lawyer’s time and which are not.

The three questions

# Question What the answer means
1 What land does it sit on? Inside a designated Integrated Tourism Complex (ITC) → foreign freehold is available. Ordinary land → almost certainly not.
2 If not an ITC, is it in a Special Economic Zone or free zone — and what title is this project selling today? Royal Decree 38/2025 made foreign freehold legal there. Legal framework and issued deed are different things.
3 How many floors, and is any of it bare land? Four or more floors → the expat usufruct route may apply. Two-storey villas and townhouses → closed. Bare serviced plots → the most restricted category of all.

Three questions, asked in that order, will correctly classify almost every residential listing in Oman. The rest of this page shows them working on real projects, including the ones we sell.

Question 1: is it inside an ITC?

The Integrated Tourism Complex is the classic and safest route. It is the designation under which a non-Omani, non-GCC individual has historically obtained outright freehold, and it is the only property route that feeds Oman’s Golden Residency.

Established ITC Projects we hold there
Al Mouj, Muscat Bellevue, Azura Beach Residences, Vistal, The St. Regis Residences
Muscat Bay / Barr Al Jissah Muscat Bay, Zen Residences, Luma Residence
Jebel Sifah Olive Farms, Raya, Solaris
Hawana Salalah Lubana Island, Amazi
Muscat Hills Golf Hills, Opal Residences
Telal Al Qurm (licensed July 2024) Telal Al Qurm, Alef Qurum Residence

One change is worth flagging because a great deal of published advice has not caught up with it. Central Muscat now has an ITC. Telal Al Qurm was licensed in July 2024 — 164,900 m² between Wattayah and Qurum, around OMR 230 million, over 1,500 apartments, 46 townhouses, 190 serviced apartments and two four-star hotels, phased over roughly fifteen years. Third-party buildings inside it inherit that freehold basis. So the old rule of thumb that central Muscat means no foreign freehold is no longer reliable.

If the answer to question one is yes, you can usually stop. Confirm the parcel is genuinely inside the licensed boundary — ITC status attaches to the specific parcel, not to the developer or the brand — and move on to price.

Question 2: is it in an SEZ or free zone, and what is being sold today?

This is where the map changed recently and where the most confusion now sits.

Royal Decree 38/2025, promulgated on 7 April 2025 and effective 14 April, opened foreign residential ownership in Special Economic Zones and free zones. Article 42 permits developers there to sell to non-Omanis as freehold, “in the manner specified by the regulation”. So freehold outside the coastal ITCs is now legal in a way it was not before.

The trap is the gap between a legal framework and an issued deed. Legislation permitting freehold is not the same as a project having converted to it. Conversion is an administrative act, project by project, and it either has happened for the unit you are buying or it has not.

Maysan, Duqm
Price From $76,700 — the cheapest entry in our Omani portfolio
What the listing sells 99-year leasehold, not full freehold
Legal position RD 38/2025 Art.42 makes SEZ freehold lawful
Conversion date for this project None published
Golden Residency No — needs OMR 200,000 and an ITC
Real, quantifiable upside 0% VAT + 0.5% registration vs 5% VAT + 3% transfer in Muscat ITCs — about 7.5% saved on a $100,000 purchase

We sell Maysan and we think the tax saving is real. But the honest framing is that you are buying a 99-year lease today with a legal pathway to freehold and no published date, not a freehold. Our own listing title says “Freehold-Track”, and that hyphen is doing real work.

Weigh it against the obvious alternative before deciding: Sarooj Oasis at Sultan Haitham City starts at $82,160 and is freehold — about $5,500 more for a materially different title.

Question 3: how many floors, and is any of it bare land?

Outside an ITC and outside an SEZ, one route remains for individuals: usufruct. Ministerial Decision 357/2020 covers apartments in multi-storey mixed-use buildings, commonly up to 50 years and renewable. It is narrower than most buyers realise.

Usufruct condition Requirement
Building height At least four floors
Buyer age 23 or over
Residency Typically two years’ residence in Oman
Units per buyer One
Cap per building Around 40% foreign-owned

Read the first row again, because it is what closes the door on the cheapest stock in the country. Two-storey villas and townhouses fall outside the usufruct route entirely. There is no height, so there is no rule to use.

And there is a category below even that. Bare serviced plots — land sold for you to build on — are the most restricted form of Omani real estate for a foreign buyer. Where part of a scheme is sold as plots, that portion is closed even if apartments in the same district might not be.

The routes that exist outside all three questions

If a project fails all three, individual freehold is closed — but ownership in some form is not always impossible. These are the remaining structures, and they are corporate or contractual rather than personal.

Route What it is Practical note
Usufruct Long-term right of use, commonly to 50 years, renewable Ministerial Decision 357/2020; needs four-plus floors
Commercial lease A lease rather than a title Straightforward, but you own a contract, not an asset
Omani-registered company The company holds the property Real costs and filing obligations; ask an accountant first
FCIL usufruct Foreign Capital Investment Law route, tied to an investment project For a genuine business, not a holiday home

None of these is a workaround for the Surooh restriction. A citizen-entitlement scheme is closed because of who the housing is for, not because of the wrapper the buyer arrives in, and attempting to structure around that is a good way to lose a deposit and a lawyer’s respect at the same time.

The honest use of this table is narrower: if you want an Omani address for a business, or a long stay in a building that happens to sit outside the ITC map, one of these may fit. If you want a home you own outright, the answer remains question one.

The two projects that fail: Surooh

Surooh is a Ministry of Housing and Urban Planning programme. The government supplies land and utilities; private developers build and sell whole neighbourhoods to citizens entitled to residential land. It is affordable housing policy, not an investment product, and the pricing reflects a restriction rather than a bargain.

Nismat Zain, Sur Husn Al Zain, Bidbid
Programme Surooh (MHUP) Surooh (MHUP)
Developer Zain Property Development Zain Property Development
Entry price $104,000 $123,500
Entry size 1,862 sq ft 1,862 sq ft
Per sq ft $56 — cheapest in the portfolio $66 — second cheapest
Q1 — inside an ITC? No No
Q2 — SEZ / free zone? No No
Q3 — four floors? No — two-storey No — two-storey
Bare plots in the offer? Yes No
Routes failed All three Two
Golden Residency Fails both tests Fails both tests
Handover Q4 2033 Earlier

Nismat Zain is the clearest case in the country. It offers the cheapest built space anywhere in our portfolio, it fails every foreign-ownership route, and its handover is Q4 2033 — three years later than anything else we hold. At OMR 40,000 it also sits an order of magnitude below the OMR 200,000 Golden Residency threshold, so neither the ownership test nor the residency test is close.

Husn Al Zain in Bidbid, Ad Dakhiliyah, is the same structure: 639 homes, ordinary land, two-storey villas and townhouses. It fails questions one and three, and therefore fails both Golden Residency tests too.

We list both. We are not going to sell either to an overseas buyer, and the reason this page exists is that plenty of listings for this kind of stock do not say so.

There is a timing point buried in that table that deserves its own line. Nismat Zain hands over in Q4 2033. Even for an Omani buyer entitled to purchase it, that is seven years of waiting from today, against handovers of 2026 to 2029 across the rest of the portfolio. When a price looks impossible, the explanation is usually somewhere in the terms rather than in the market, and here there are two explanations stacked on top of each other: an entitlement you do not have, and a delivery date most buyers would not accept.

One more caution on the paperwork, and it applies to any government-scheme listing you encounter. On Nismat Zain, two documented figures do not reconcile: the developer states 358 homes while the Ministry register lists 407, and the same sales sheet carries both a $104,000 headline and an August 2026 starting price of OMR 44,500. Neither discrepancy is sinister on its own — registers lag, and prices move — but a project you cannot buy is also a project nobody has had to reconcile the numbers for. Treat unreconciled paperwork as a signal to ask more questions, not fewer.

How to recognise the pattern yourself

Government housing stock has tells, and once you know them you will spot it from the brochure cover.

  • A ministry crest or programme logo on the brochure — Surooh or Hai branding rather than a developer’s own identity.
  • Prices far below the market: roughly $56–$66 per square foot against $166–$261 in Muscat’s ITCs. A 60–75% discount is not an arbitrage a foreigner can capture; it is the price of the restriction.
  • Two-storey villas and townhouses, often on generous plots, in inland wilayats rather than coastal tourism zones.
  • Sold through “a broker’s account” rather than the developer’s own website.
  • No published payment terms — because the terms are set by an entitlement process, not a sales process.

None of these is conclusive on its own. Together they are a reliable signal to run the three questions before you get attached to the price.

The exception that stops you generalising: Hay Al Wafa

Here is why the programme name is not the answer.

Hay Al Wafa, Sultan Haitham City
Programme family Same government neighbourhood model
Inside a coastal ITC? No
Four-plus floors? Not on the usufruct basis
Sold freehold to non-Omanis? Yes
Entry price $170,600
Per sq ft $100 — third cheapest in the portfolio

Hay Al Wafa is the same family of government-backed neighbourhood scheme as the two projects above, it fails the first two questions on paper, and it is nonetheless offered freehold to all nationalities. Some Hai neighbourhoods at Sultan Haitham City have been opened to non-Omanis; others have not.

Eligibility attaches to the parcel and the project, never to the programme, the developer or the city. That is the single most important sentence on this page. The three questions tell you where to look and what to ask. Only the title deed and a lawyer tell you what is true.

The tenure that is not stated at all: Taqah

Two beachfront buildings on the Dhofar coast, roughly 31 to 34 kilometres east of Salalah, three kilometres apart on the same beach, same developer, same brochure template. They are the cheapest sea-front homes in Oman, and their ownership positions are different from each other and from what several brokerages say about them.

The Sea Front Residences Taqah Long Beach Boutique
From $128,700 $224,700
Size 592 sq ft 915–1,163 sq ft
Units 94 24
Handover 2027 2026
Service charge OMR 300/year flat To be specified
Payment Staged 50% on reservation
Stated tenure “99 years leasehold renewable for life” Not stated anywhere

The Sea Front Residences states its position plainly in its own brochure, and a 99-year renewable lease is a perfectly legitimate asset. It is simply not the ITC freehold sold at Al Mouj, Muscat Bay or Hawana Salalah, and the difference matters for inheritance, for resale, and for whether the property supports the residency route at all.

Taqah Long Beach Boutique is the one that concerns us more. Its brochure and sales sheet say nothing about ownership — not freehold, not leasehold, not usufruct, not title. And half the purchase price falls due at reservation. Get the developer’s own tenure document, in writing, against a named unit, before any money moves.

The case that is unconfirmed rather than closed

Not every hard case resolves to yes or no, and it would be dishonest to write this page as though it does.

Uptown Muscat and Central 7 sit in Knowledge Oasis Muscat, a Madayn technology estate. That is neither a coastal ITC nor an OPAZ free zone, and Madayn estates do not automatically inherit OPAZ ownership treatment — so RD 38/2025 does not obviously reach them. Yet the developer and several brokerages market both as freehold with a residency visa, and trade press has described Central 7 as offering freehold office space.

Our position is that eligibility here is unconfirmed, not excluded. We are not going to tell you it is impossible, because the marketed claim may well be correct and we cannot see the deeds. We are also not going to repeat the claim as though we had verified it. Ask for the title designation and the residency entitlement in writing against a named unit, and have an independent lawyer check it at the land registry. That advice is not a formality here; it is the whole answer.

What this does to residency

Eligibility to own and eligibility for residency are different tests, and a project can pass the first while failing the second.

Golden Residency Owner Visa
Instrument Relaunched 31 Aug 2025 via Invest Oman ROP Decision 87/2026, Official Gazette 1653, June 2026
Threshold OMR 200,000 (≈ USD 520,000), single unified tier No minimum value specified
Property must be… In an ITC Owned — certificate from the competent authority
Validity 10 years, renewable 6 months to 1 year, renewable
Stay Long-term residency Up to 3 months per entry
Family Included Spouse and first-degree relatives
If you sell Basis lost Auto-expires, family permits cancelled

These are two different things and they are constantly conflated. The Golden Residency is a ten-year investor residency with a real threshold and an ITC requirement. The Owner Visa is a shorter, sponsor-free “I own a home here, let me use it” permit tied to continued ownership. Our Golden Residency vs Owner Visa guide sets out the difference in full.

Note the practical consequence for everything above: because the Golden Residency property route runs through ITC real estate, every project that fails question one also fails the Golden Residency, regardless of price. A leasehold in Duqm and a Surooh townhouse in Sur are both outside it, for different reasons.

The price of eligibility, in one table

Here is the cost of the restriction, stated as plainly as we can. Price per square foot across our Omani listings, cheapest first, with the eligibility answer beside it:

Project Per sq ft Can a foreigner buy it?
Nismat Zain, Sur $56 No — fails all three
Husn Al Zain, Bidbid $66 No — fails two
Hay Al Wafa, Sultan Haitham City $100 Yes — freehold
Al Ahlam District, Sultan Haitham City $118 Yes
Alef Qurum Residence, Telal Al Qurm $166 Yes — ITC
Jood, Sultan Haitham City $179 Yes
Taqah Long Beach Boutique $195 Tenure not stated
Telal Al Qurm $209 Yes — ITC
The Sea Front Residences, Taqah $217 99-year leasehold
Opal Residences, Muscat Hills $220 Yes — ITC
Yamal, Al Seeb $223 Yes — ITC
Uptown Muscat, Knowledge Oasis $261 Unconfirmed
Muscat Bay $275 Yes — ITC
Al Mina, Barr Al Jissah $387 Yes — ITC

The shape of that table is the argument. The two cheapest entries are closed, and the cheapest thing you can actually buy costs 79% more per square foot than the cheapest thing on the list. That gap is not a market inefficiency waiting to be exploited. It is the price of an entitlement you do not have.

It also explains why “cheapest property in Oman” is a misleading search. The cheapest Omani property and the cheapest Omani property available to you are different assets in different governorates at different prices.

Why the restriction exists at all

It is worth understanding the policy, because it explains why these projects will not quietly open up and why waiting for that is not a strategy.

Oman’s housing programmes exist to deliver homes to citizens entitled to residential land, and the land grant is the subsidy. The government supplies serviced plots and infrastructure; private developers build and sell into a controlled market. The price you see — $56 a square foot in Sur against $166 to $261 in Muscat’s tourism complexes — is the visible edge of that subsidy. Opening the stock to foreign capital would transfer the subsidy to buyers it was never intended for and price out the households it was built for, which is why the restriction is structural rather than administrative.

The foreign-ownership map has genuinely widened, and it is widening in the direction of tourism and economic development rather than housing policy. The ITC framework put freehold where the state wanted resort investment. Royal Decree 38/2025 extended it into Special Economic Zones and free zones, where the state wants industrial and logistics investment. Telal Al Qurm’s licence brought an ITC into central Muscat for the first time. Each of those is a deliberate opening in a specific place for a specific reason. None of them touches citizen housing, and there is no sign that any of them will.

Read that way, the three questions are not obstacles. They are a map of where Oman has decided to invite foreign money, and it is a considerably larger map than it was two years ago. Official orientation on the investment framework is published at oman.om.

What to ask, and what to get in writing

  • Is this parcel inside a licensed ITC? If yes, which one, and can you show the licence covers this plot?
  • What title is being issued for this specific unit — freehold, usufruct, or leasehold? If leasehold, how many years and what happens at the end?
  • If the project is in an SEZ, has it converted to freehold under RD 38/2025 — and on what date? “It is permitted” is not an answer.
  • How many floors is the building? Below four, the usufruct route is unavailable.
  • Is any part of what I am buying bare land?
  • Does this property qualify for the Golden Residency, and is that because of its ITC status or only because of its price?
  • Will you put the tenure position in writing against a named unit number?
  • May my own lawyer verify the designation at the land registry before I pay a deposit? A no here is the answer to every other question.

Why we are telling you what you cannot buy

We are Uinvest Group and we are the selling agent on all forty-three of the Omani projects referenced here, including the two that fail every test. Publishing a page that steers you away from the cheapest listings we hold is not altruism — it is the only version of this page that survives contact with a lawyer.

An enquiry on a Surooh townhouse costs everyone weeks and ends in a no. An enquiry on a project whose tenure is undeclared can cost a 50% reservation deposit. The three questions take about a minute and remove both outcomes. If they steer you toward Hay Al Wafa or an ITC address instead, that is a better transaction for you and a shorter one for us.

You can reach us through the contact page, see the full list on our Oman page, and read the companion guides on freehold property in Oman and whether foreigners can buy in Oman.

Frequently asked questions

Can foreigners buy property anywhere in Oman? No. Foreign freehold is available inside designated Integrated Tourism Complexes, and — since Royal Decree 38/2025 — is legally possible in Special Economic Zones and free zones. Outside those, individuals are generally limited to usufruct in buildings of at least four floors, and government housing programmes for Omani citizens are closed entirely.

Why is the cheapest property in Oman not for sale to me? Because it is Surooh stock — Ministry of Housing neighbourhoods built for citizens entitled to residential land. The low price reflects that entitlement, not a market opportunity.

Is Duqm freehold now? Legally, RD 38/2025 Article 42 permits freehold sales to non-Omanis in SEZs. In practice, Maysan is currently sold on a 99-year leasehold and no conversion date has been published for the project. Freehold is the framework; the lease is the deed.

Does a 99-year lease qualify for the Golden Residency? No. The property route to Golden Residency requires registered real estate in an ITC, at OMR 200,000 or above. A leasehold outside an ITC fails on both counts.

All the Surooh projects are closed, then? No, and this is the point. Hay Al Wafa at Sultan Haitham City is the same family of government scheme and is sold freehold to all nationalities. Eligibility is decided project by project and parcel by parcel.

What is the minimum I need to spend? There is no single published figure, and an OMR 50,000 minimum is widely quoted without a source we can point to. What is documented is the Golden Residency threshold of OMR 200,000 in an ITC. Below that you may still own; you simply may not get the ten-year residency.

Can I buy through an Omani company instead? An Omani-registered company is one of the routes that exists outside the ITC framework, along with commercial lease and FCIL usufruct for an investment project. Whether it makes sense depends on your purpose, and it is a question for a lawyer and an accountant rather than an agent.

Related reading

Join The Discussion

Compare listings

Compare
Oman flag
HEADQUARTERS MUSCAT